Company on Sundays
Daily Routines by the Manson Podcasting Network
Nadine Ingram: Flour and Stone Bakery, Woolloomooloo
0:00
-13:30

Nadine Ingram: Flour and Stone Bakery, Woolloomooloo

Baker, Mother, Writer

Nadine Ingram is the much heralded artisan baker behind Sydney’s famous Flour and Stone Bakery at Wooloomooloo. She grew up on a dairy farm in the Hunter Valley and has worked in London, perfecting her pastry talents at the likes of Le Gavroche, Le Caprivce and The Ivy. In the early 2000’s Nadine transitioned from back room pastry work to the more personable and engaging stage of bakeries such as Melbourne’s famous Bourke Street Bakery.

Nadine has has a remarkable career to date, dotted with many notable nominations (2017 Telstra Businesswoman of the Year) and collaborations (Cornersmith, Williams Sonoma) that are the result of her deep rooted ethos for human connection, creativity and looking after one’s soul.

I approached Nadine Ingram to record something for Daily Routines because I am fascinated with all the world’s early risers, there is a magic about being into the day while most of us are sleeping and then at the other end of the day - how on earth do they survive?! 

But this recording surprised me. It’s not about early rising at all. 

I don’t know Nadine but I’ve learned through this recording that she is a beautiful soul, who’s deeply connected to this world and her calling as a baker.

“I feel like there is a synergy between my body and my mind and my heart that makes me feel most alive when I am baking and so I identify myself as a baker. That synergy really comes alive when I am at home.”

Nadine not only loves being a baker, she loves the art of meditation and lighting the fire on a cold evening, to sit with a glass of wine maybe? He day always starts with a cup of tea. 

Listening to Kate Cebrano “My life is a Symphony,” while she walks and Chet Baker while she bakes.

The captions to images on @nadineingram Instagram are a worthwhile insight into the way Nadine views the world. Images: @alan_benson_photographer

0 Comments
Company on Sundays
Daily Routines by the Manson Podcasting Network
Bite size insights into the daily routines of women.
What time do you get up? and what is the first thing you do? Do you keep lists? How do you manage the washing and when do you find time for exercise? What helps you wind down? And how do you get back on track on the bad days.